Part 4; Reflection: Printing Begins

The luxury of having six weeks holiday provided me with the opportunity to begin Part 4 without delay. In fact it happened so quickly that I didn’t even have a new sketchbook ready to catch all my ideas. I have ended up with a pile of notes on copy paper which is driving me crazy. I don’t want to repeat the mistake of an A4 file like I submitted for Part 1, nor do I want to waste precious printing time transferring these into a ‘neat format’ for the sake of it.

To date, presentation has been one of my strengths. Just lately I have felt a real change in my… work? approach? attitude? thoughts? Not sure exactly what it is or how to describe it! Inger identified ‘a sense of new beginnings’ which is definitely true, it feels like a building momentum. This means I am working prolifically and my thoughts are coming really quickly. My experimentation has been extensive, I did not expect to encounter so many variables in the printing process, I am really unsure how to communicate this learning. It seems more honest to preserve my ideas in the format that they arrive. It also feels quite scary to reveal this more scruffy approach and the observations that are closer to my core than anything I have presented so far.

I feel like I have connected with the process in a very different way to knitting or stitching, which feels comforting and protective by comparison. This not to say it is a negative feeling, simply a more powerful one.

My initial research into monotypes didn’t fill me with the sense of dread and paralysis that other units have. Sometimes I prefer not to research beyond the technical requirements of a new process because seeing other people’s work is really scary and leaves me feeling flat for days. This time I felt buoyed up and enthusiastic.

I have absolutely no idea where printmaking is going to lead me or what the prints are going to look like. Early tests have already shown me that I am going to have to be brave and decisive in my mark making. I need to explore the spontaneous and accidental. I can’t afford to be too controlling and careful with this technique. The removal of this filter between me and the paper feels terrifying and exciting at the same time.

 

Leave a Reply

