3.2; Adding Colour to Plaster, continued…

SAMPLE THREE: My approach for making this sample was quite different from what I am used to, it developed from my consideration of my Feedback for Part 2. Cari has encouraged me to: “demonstrate experimentation, investigation and growth” and to seek this above “perfection and refinement”. This advice felt really counterintuitive to begin with, I have always regarded improvement as getting better at something: as mastery of a technique. I am beginning to really appreciate the benefit of ‘growth’ above ‘improvement’.

I began with just the seed of an idea about casting the internal space of a hat. This interested me because it seems the closest I can get to casting the inside of my head. (That probably sounds stranger than it is meant!) In Sample 2, I found a way to record the space in my lungs by blowing the contents into plaster. This inspired me to think about how the mind/imagination could be represented.

I played around with some hat type metaphors and sayings for a while, then decided to grab a hat and some plaster and get on with it… I think this is key to my changing approach. I investigated the ideas through materials before ‘thinking them to death’. Usually I would: decide what to do using skills I already have, design it in my sketchbook, then simply transfer the pre-determined outcome into physical materials.

DSCF4971

This was what I achieved. Whether or not it speaks of what is ‘inside my head’ no longer seems to matter. I poured multiple batches of different colour plaster, I peeled and cut at the straw bonnet, I knocked shards away, I photographed and I drew. I literally learned so much when I didn’t really know where the investigation was leading that the process has become more important than the result. I know I was ‘playing’ and I think that is what both my tutors to date have been alluding to, a sort of freedom from myself?

I could continue this post by analysing the physical qualities of this sample, the shapes, colours and textures but I have already covered some of this in my sketchbook. I don’t want to repeat myself but also I don’t want to detract from the fact it was the experience that was the learning here not the finished product.

 

 

Leave a Reply

