A1; Response to Tutor Feedback

In my last post I shared my tutor feedback from Part One. As I explained I am really happy that Cari was able to identify one of the main causes of my frustration: sketchbook versus learning log/blog.

I had already identified that things were not working, I knew something didn’t feel right. I just couldn’t quite put my finger on it… I had narrowed the problem to my ‘sketchbook’ and was glad of the opportunity to discuss this with fellow course-mate Inger (thank you!). We decided together that working on loose pages is difficult for those who like to organise. I felt size was an issue, having gone from A3 to A4. As Inger rightly says working at A4 gives her a double page spread of A3, this means I am used to working at A2 (albeit cut in half by the spiral binding). You just don’t get that amount of space in a loose leaf binder.

Cari and I also discussed the temptation of treating the A4 binder “more like a documentation report than a sketchbook.”  Her comment that: “It also provides the temptation to re-work, re-do and re-organise the document, which means it could be over-controlled and over-thought rather than an organic exploration of your ideas”, was so succinct and accurate that I could have wept with joy! That is exactly what had happened!

As far as content of the ‘sketchbook’, I hadn’t noticed how many ‘diary’ type entries I was writing. The tone of my writing also seems to have changed, it reads as if I am talking to an external reader rather than making notes to myself. These  things will be easy to rectify now that I am aware of it.

As Cari rightly pointed out: “By reducing the duplication of information between the sketchbook and blog and writing less in the sketchbook, you should end up with more time to draw and develop new samples”. I look forward to using this ‘extra’ time to revive my sketchbook process and concentrate on my drawing- the things I actually enjoy doing.

Regarding sampling, I was pleased to see Cari recognised the variety and experimental nature of the work I produced. I am concerned that she says: “The three dimensional, spatial samples were the ones which excited me most” since these are the ones I find hardest to create. I am becoming increasingly aware of how flat and two-dimensional my work is. This will be an area in which I can really challenge myself and push the boundaries of my comfort zone a little further.

Leave a Reply

