3.1; Recording: Fusing Plastic

To conclude this exercise I made some observational drawings. This gave me a much greater appreciation of the intricacies of patterns created as plastic is heated. I chose my three favourite fused samples and set about recording them on paper using a variety of media.

DRAWING 1

Oil pastel on paper, 11 x 12″

Doing a sustained drawing helped me to really focus on the shapes that had formed. It was difficult to describe how the bubbles were thinner and more translucent than the areas that had thickened. I chose to use dark blue to represent how the colour had pooled in those areas.

DRAWING 2

Wide variety of pens, A2

I used drawing exercises to mark make in response to what I could see. These included: left/right handed drawing. Drawing without looking at the paper. Continuous line and Rapid drawing.

The size of the paper allowed me to be free with the marks I made. I find these exercises really help me learn about the object in front of me, this time as an added bonus I have a sheet of really attractive shapes and patterns.

DRAWING 3

Brusho wash, pens and crayons, A4

The photo doesn’t really do the drawing justice (the colour looks a bit washed out).

I am really excited by this drawing, it sort of snuck up on me. At first I thought: ‘Where did that come from? It doesn’t look like my work!’ When I thought about it I realised that I can see the previous drawing exercises, but also earlier work with the Gelli Plate:

dscf3914

In addition, I have also been taking quite a few photographs recently. I have been meaning to share them but haven’t had a chance yet, I can see their influence also:

I spent a lot of time over the Christmas holidays looking at trees, the effects created by heating plastics remind me so much of the bark. I felt it important to include these photographs, they not only demonstrate the similarities in texture and pattern but they also explain where this unfamiliar ‘green’ is coming from. It is not a colour I generally use and it took me by surprise; I like rich, earthy and fairly muted colours, but here is nature teaching me how to incorporate a vibrant green. Good old nature!

Leave a Reply

